1. Home
  2. Gin Experiences
  3. The Real Life Location Behind Downton Abbey Is Hosting a Virtual Cocktails Event

The Real Life Location Behind Downton Abbey Is Hosting a Virtual Cocktails Event

Featured Image for The Real Life Location Behind Downton Abbey Is Hosting a Virtual Cocktails Event
Highclere Castle Gin

If you’ve ever fancied living it up like Lady Mary, then now’s your chance to indulge as the real life location behind TV hit Downton Abbey – known as Highclere Castle – is virtually opening its doors for a cocktails event.

Make a date in your diary for Friday April 17. The event will be hosted by Lord and Lady Carnarvon over Facebook Live.

The lavish location recently launched their very own gin called Highclere Castle Gin. Distilled at England’s oldest gin distillery, the product was inspired by a style of drinking cocktails discovered in the family archive.

To join in the ‘Cocktails at the Castle’ event, simply nip over to the gin’s Facebook page at 9pm GMT (4pm EST, 1pm PST) on the day.

Or, if you simply can’t wait, why not try out the cocktail below at home?

Garden of Eden Cocktail, with Highclere Castle Gin

Highclere Castle Gin

Recipe by Head Bartender Stephanie Cohen of Zohara Mediterranean Kitchen in Hartford, CT.

Ingredients

  • 2 oz Highclere Castle Gin
  • .25 oz Dolin Dry Vermouth
  • .25 oz Hibiscus Rosemary Lavender Syrup (recipe below)
  • .25 oz Fresh lime juice
  • 4 oz Aromatic Fever-Tree Tonic

For the Hibiscus Rosemary Lavender Syrup

Ingredients

  • 50 Grams dehydrated hibiscus flowers
  • 2 Rosemary sprigs
  • 2 Lavender sprigs
  • 240 Grams hot water

Method

  1. Steep for 5 minutes
  2. Strain measure 240 grams of liquid
  3. Add 240 grams of sugar